Philosophy & Literature Courses

On-line

Philosophy: The Good Life  [seven week course]

1st October until 3rd 

December 2020. 

Thursdays 12:00 until 13:30 GMT [1pm until 2.30pm BST]

The life truly worth living is the considered life’, said Socrates, two and a half millennia ago. Socrates meant a life that was well informed and has goals which will benefit both oneself and society. The Good Life, ergo, allows us to grow autonomously, and rather than be dictated to by duty, empower us to live a full and flourishing life. Beginning with the Ancients, taking a whistle stop through the Renaissance, and then summarising with the Modern, this course will give us a taste of the Good Life from some of the greatest minds that reflect upon it.

Philosophy: But is it Art? [six week course]

20th October until 1st 

December 2020. 

Tuesdays 18:00 until 19:30 GMT [7pm until 8.30pm BST]

What is art? What is the difference between Tracey Emin’s My Bed and Botticelli’s The Birth of Venus? Have we reached a stage where almost anything can be called art? This course will explore some of the theories used to help us define art, including idealist theory, significant form and the institutional theory.

Courses in Philosophy, Literature

and Creative Writing

  • YouTube - Grey Circle
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle
  • Blogger - Grey Circle