Creative Writing Courses

On-line

Writing Fiction: Final editing [4 of 5]

Wednesday 26th May 2021. 1pm until 3pm BST [12:00 until 14:00 UTC]

The fourth of the five sessions on editing will focus on how to properly layout our text, ensure that our dialogue is furthering the plot but not compensating for it, and, very importantly, correcting our punctuation and grammar. 

Writing Fiction: The Title [individual session]

Thursday 27th May 2021.

7pm until 9pm BST [18:00 until 20:00 UTC]

Titles are tricky things.  Somehow, we know intuitively when confronted by a good title (Hemingway is a master of titles), just as we sigh when we’re presented with a dud (it would be mean to mention anyone here).   This session will investigate some strong titles and get behind what makes them work.  Equipped with this understanding, we too can create good titles. 

Writing Fiction: Workshops and editors [5 of 5]

Wednesday 9th June 2021. 1pm until 3pm BST [12:00 until 14:00 UTC]

In the last of our editing series we will begin by looking at the key ingredients to create a successful writers’ workshop, which can be a great opportunity to learn a lot about our work.  Finally, we will consider what criteria to use when choosing an editor (should they be a friendly critic or a critical friend?) as we prepare for the next stage: getting our work out there!